Honor the Fallen: Illinois Police Officers Memorial

In Springfield today, lawmakers, first responders, and families are honoring the lives of police officers who made the ultimate sacrifice across our state. The Illinois police officers we lost since we last had the Peace Officer Memorial are:

  • Officer Joseph T. Cappello III, Melrose Park Police Department (End of Watch: April 24, 2020)
  • Officer Gary Steven Hibbs, Chicago Heights Police Department (EOW: March 12, 2021)
  • Senior Master Trooper Todd A. Hanneken, Illinois State Police (EOW: March 25, 2021)
  • Lieutenant James J. Kouski, Jr., Hometown Police Department (EOW: April 3, 2021)
  • Officer Allen Serta Giancchetti, Cook County Sheriff’s Police (EOW: April 30, 2021)
  • Officer Christopher Neil Oberheim, Champaign Police Department (EOW: May 19, 2021)
  • Officer Brian Russell Pierce, Jr., Brooklyn Police Department (EOW: August 4, 2021)
  • Officer Ella Grace French, Chicago Police Department (EOW: August 7, 2021)
  • Officer Tyler Nathaniel Timmins, Pontoon Beach Police Department (EOW: October 26, 2021)
  • Officer Nicholas Kozak, Forest Park Police Department (EOW: November 27, 2021)
  • Officer Jeffrey Dela Cruz, U.S. Department of Homeland Security – Customs and Border Protection – Office of Field Operations, US (EOW: December 23, 2021)
  • Deputy Sean Ian Riley, Wayne County Sheriff’s Office (EOW: December 29, 2021)
  • Sergeant Marlene R. Rittmanic, Bradley Police Department (EOW: December 30, 2021)

Thank you to our police officers for your service, sacrifice, and courage to protect our communities in the 20th District and across Illinois. I encourage everyone to please take time to remember and honor the fallen today.